Presidential Commission for the Urban Poor

Awit Pinoy

The Convention Hall of the Bureau of Soils and Water Management in Quezon City rang with a nationalistic fervor last 1 December 2005 when it played host to the Awit Pinoy competitions.

Eleven choirs participated, and the quality of their performances belied the fact that the contestants were mere high school students. It made the job of the Board of Judges - composed of Nikos Ibarra R. Mante (Conductor, UP Manila Chorale), Prof. Ricardo Mazo, Jr. (UST College of Music), Prof. Gemma T. Malicdem (UP College of Music), and headed by Dean Ramon Acoymo (UP College of Music) - a little harder. But as in every contest, a winner had to be chosen.

Gen. Pio del Pilar National High School (Makati City) took home top honors for their rendition of "Isang Dugo, Isang Lahi, Isang Musika," as well as a whopping PhP60,000 in prize money.

Second place and PhP40,000 went to Pasay City West High School, who interpreted "Mabuhay Ka Pilipino."

On the other hand, Rizal High School (Pasig City) took third place and PhP20,000 performing the same song.

No one was empty-handed, however, as the rest of the competing schools received consolation prizez of PhP5,000 each.

Awit Pinoy Contestants
Awit Pinoy Board of Judges